Our Village

St Martins was first settled in 1783, and its horseshoe shaped bay proved a natural harbour. The tall ships which plied their trade between Saint John and Liverpool, England were built here, and the remains of the dry docks can still be seen. As the village developed and grew, many fine old sea captains houses were built with their distinctive ‘widows walks’ balconies on the upper storey, where the waiting wives could look out to sea for their returning menfolk. Some good examples of these can still be seen.

Today, St Martins is a thriving community and has many and varied attractions to offer all its visitors. The visitor centre can be found at 424 Main Street, in the Lighthouse at the harbour, where further information about events and festivals in the area is available. This venue on its own is worth a look, as it is in another of our old lighthouses, now redundant. The Village of St Martins office is at 73 Main Street, St Martins (506) 833 2010 , e-mail: vilstmar@nbnet.nb.ca , www.stmartinscanada.com where the staff will be pleased to answer any queries.

St Martins has its own volunteer Fire Department and Ambulance station on Main Street, where there is also the doctor’s office.

The village is served by four churches, the Baptist Church and the United Church both on Main Street, the Anglican Church on the corner of Route 111, and the Catholic Church on Route 111, in the direction of Saint John.

Stop for a while at the Pjephscott Wharf and watch the fishing boats unload their catch of scallops and lobster. Lobster season runs from the second Tuesday in November until mid January. The season starts again in the spring from April until June. Scallops are landed year round.

St Martins can boast some very fine restaurants ranging from delicious traditional home cooking to fine dining for that special night out – and you don’t have very far to travel.

Share Button